top of page
Search
Writer's pictureCarolina Farmer Farmer

A diatribe about man's best friend"s owners

I don't get much opportunity to cover something as simple as my dog. But going around in various houses of many types of people in my normal job as a Paramedic people definitely treat their dogs on a wide spectrum. From dogs tied to trees with a rope or chain with no food and dirty water to the other end of the spectrum like my dog Penelope who has a run of the house and pretty much does what she wants and eats like the princess she is. Ok yes she's absolutely full blown no doubt about it SPOILED SPOILED SPOILED. I completely admit it and fully own it.

Frankly people who treat their dogs on that other end I've learned by seeing this time after time , when they have no empathy for their dog"s plight , generally are self indulgent , narcissistic, self centered people whose only concern is themselves with little to no concern for anyone else or their needs or feelings. It seems to me to go hand it n hand without fail. After seeing these people and having ample opportunity to question these people and gotten to see and ask the questions about their lives it corelates as to how their relationships are in their lives. Those who treat their dogs like a burden they have to fling food at and occasionally check their water, leave them outside in all types of weather with little concern for their well being , with the attitude that " well they're just a dog" generally have very little concern or even awareness of other's well being unless it has a direct correlation to their own wants or needs.

As to my spoiled dog whom apparently thinks she's a 5 pound lap dog instead of the 75 pound galoote she is , she is wonderful. She's always a warm personality in the house who without doubt misses you to no end when you leave and shows such affection when you return. When it's bedtime she's right there with you settling down and ready to provide mutual comfort for the evening. She's the bright , funny and warm personality in the house. For some I'm absolutely sure they don't or can't grasp that concept. For me I truly think they can't. Which is really sad for them in the unfulfilled existence they're destined to endure.

I really don't have a problem with those types . It's more of a pity thing. I do know when I encounter people like that I don't really look for much out of them other than what they get something out of with self interest involved. And like I said I do understand they just don't have that in them. They can attempt to " fake it " of course for the appearance that will gain them some sort of benefit for themselves but it will only last until the benefit is gained then of course the poor dog ends up forgotten in the end and ends up tossed to the side as that burden.

I guess this whole diatribe was all to say before you get a dog, really and truly search deep inside and decide whether it's for other reasons , other than to have a new member of the family, if it's for reasons such as to gain something else that the dog is just a price on the chest board then don't do it. In the end the dog will end up living a miserable, lonely existence and you will have moved on to whatever next project to gain your next want.

As to my spoiled dog she will remain so and I'm perfectly content with that. I'm sure she is too. đŸ˜đŸ¶


161 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page