top of page
Search
Writer's pictureCarolina Farmer Farmer

Agriculture and Morals

I just recently read a quote by Thomas Jefferson and it got me thinking , I know how dangerous that can be , but , the quote was " agriculture is our wisest pursuit , because in the end it will contribute most to real wealth , good morals and happiness.

When I really thought about it , man what a statement. Everytime I'm out there taking care of the garden , or the animals that contribute to the garden or farm aspect in some way the talks with God are invaluable. It gives you quiet time to have those conversations that you really do need just to check yourself as well as keep your sanity in this crazy , fast paced , rat race of a society we've turned in to. I do wonder since our society today has moved so far away from our founding fathers farming and agricultural traditions , is that why our society has lost so many of our morals. It does make you think.

I'm not saying all farming operations are moral like those corporate owned operations , I'm talking about those old time family farms . They truly don't exist anymore for the most part. But I do really feel the further we get away from that the worse the morals seem to drift from center.

But as far as something as simple as trying to apply those simple old family farm aspects even on a small scale it seems it does bring you back closer to center. At least for me.

If you can't do some minimal farming at least throw a few plants that can produce something you'll want to eat and tend to those for one season. Take that time each day and use your time wisely. Have those conversations with God and see if it doesn't bring YOU back closer to center and quiet the madness of this industrialized, computerized, mad house.

Go plant a crop and have yourself a nice conversation and see how it works for you. If you don't listen to me take a hint from one of the founding fathers, Thomas Jefferson, I think he was a pretty smart guy. 😁🙏👨‍🌾



23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page