top of page
Search
Writer's pictureCarolina Farmer Farmer

Egg storage šŸ˜§šŸ„š

So me and a friend were discussing various ways to store eggs. We both have chickens and ducks although I also have rabbits and she has a goat whom we will call Bubba's goat. But that's another whole discussion.

We were discussing the topic because we both run low on storage space in our refrigerators and would really like other options.

Now we both already know about just not placing them in the fridge at all and just storing them on the counter and I do realize that this method is safe to an extent and still widely used in some other countries. Some estimates say you can store them on the counter for up to 3 weeks. ( Do your own research before attempting to do this safely) however I still just can't wrap my head around this one and neither can my wife Risha. At least not yet.

So I started wondering what are some other options.

There is the option of freezing them. Now there are various opinions on this subject from freezing the yolks separately but it does seem the consensus is for freezing is that they store much better scrambled. When you thaw them for use it takes three tablespoons of frozen eggs to equal one fresh egg. Once thawed you will need to add a small dash of salt to regain some of the texture although very little. There is also some trepidation about the taste after freezing and best described as baking eggs because of the freezing process after that they're not really meant for your morning breakfast. šŸ˜ Now if you cook the eggs prior to freezing they're perfectly fine. Now they're no where close to a fresh egg but millions of people eat frozen cooked eggs every single day when they go to their local fast food franchise for their favorite breakfast sandwich and love it. There is also the option of storing them instead as a frozen cake or baked good . These seem to hold up really well maintaining their taste. Either way the storage time is a few months.

Next up is dehydrating or freeze drying the eggs but for me this seems much to complicated and can be dangerous if not done correctly.

Next up is fermented eggs or salt cured eggs. Now reading all through this stuff came down to the same problem. You still have to refrigerate them either directly after the process starts or shortly after it completes so same problem you still end up with space taken up in the fridge. There was mention of storing boiled eggs in Sauerkraut however I'm not that crazy about having eggs in my sauerkraut. There again fridge space.

There was mention of salt curing eggs but researchers found that the salt did penetrate the egg and the resulting taste was aweful.

There was the ancient chinese method of making the 1000 year egg by curing with wood ash however they recommend you remove your taste buds prior to consumption. I do think those survivalist mention this method frequently but you won't see much of the consumption aspect because of the fabulous taste.

Last up will be pickling or canning. By all the research I found at most canning will by you 3 months tops and that's if you've taken all the safety precautions and been extremely diligent about your careful cleanliness. And you read the precautions and all that could go wrong I was terrified after just reading the research on studies they did on people who are supposed to know what they are doing. So canning eggs is OUT for me.

So pickling. Now I love eating pickles so with this year's windfall harvest of cucumbers I pickled a boat load of cucumbers. I figured hey we've got all these cucumbers who doesn't love pickles. Well it's sort of like watching the Andy Griffith show with the episode on Ain't Bee's pickles. šŸ¤¢ They're great in the beginning but it doesn't take too long before šŸ¤¢ . So I'm sure pickled eggs are probably great with the first few but thereafter šŸ¤¢.

Now the type that got me started down this road was preserving them in lyme . It seems as though you add so much lyme to a gallon of water then stack your fresh eggs in the bucket and you're off to the races. By everything I can find this is probably the closest to doable as your going to get. It does have its risk but there again the maximum time your going to be able to preserve is about 3 months. So for me it just doesn't seem worth it when it is much safer , in my opinion, to just purchase another fridge just for the daily deluge of eggs and have them safely stored with little risk of me screwing that up and making some concoction of a bio weapon unbeknownst to me and end up making myself sicker than the local hobo drinking the whiskey bottle full of some fluid he has no idea what it is. šŸ¤¢

So I'm sticking to the fridge. šŸ§ŠšŸ„¶šŸ‘Øā€šŸŒ¾šŸ˜







232 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page