top of page
Search
Writer's pictureCarolina Farmer Farmer

Fruit Trees 🌳

I'm seriously considering multiple fruit trees for next year. It seems to me a much better return on investment.

Now I do love The usual garden variety vegetables and that definitely won't change. But it just seems with the right plan ahead of time a little investment and work on the front end would pay huge dividends on the back end. It seems with much less effort once established. That however depends highly on the aforementioned planning.

One thing to consider before even digging the plot for the fruit tree is what fruit trees really do well in your growing zone unless you want to pot the plant then that brings up a whole slue of other problems and considerations. That for me is not my plan. Although if you want a fruit tree that's not really meant for your growing zone then that's definitely an option.

The next thing to consider is the production expectancy versus the area you have available. The reason I mention this one is if you plan on planting something like a peach tree you'll need to plant a minimum of two to pollinate and the production life is only about three years. So near the end of the production of the tree you'll need another set area to plant again. Then of course your going to more than likely cut the primary down because it's production lifetime is over. Many other fruit trees present the same issue.

Number three on the list is useable area . Some fruit trees like the Santa Rosa plum tree I currently have will require quite a large dedicated area because this plum will grow approximately twenty foot tall and quite a large area in diameter. Because of this I really have limited use under and around this plum tree. But it will provide quite a nice shade area in my chicken run for the chickens 🐓. But as far as planting anything around this area it's pretty much not useable for growing any other plants.

Last on my short little considerations list is will your choice fruit producing bush or tree require full sun, partial shade , bla bla bla. ❓My issue with this one is my nemesis the pine trees I have to contend with. 😠

So over this next year I'm going to come up with a plan for many more fruit trees and fruit producing bushes. Along with layout that will work with all the above considerations. When I finalize these plans and ideas I'll keep you posted. 🌳👨‍🌾



144 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page