top of page
Search
Writer's pictureCarolina Farmer Farmer

I'm going to do it

Well I'm going to have to break down and try wood chips again. Before I had such a problem with fire ants getting into the wood chips. They absolutely love the stuff. I think it's because it holds moisture so well they thrive in that environment. But with the weather getting ready to begin the cool down I think fire ant season is pretty well winding down.

Now I'm not going to put them in the garden I'm going to put them in the chicken run. Mostly to rebuild the corners of where the chickens have been digging. I tried pine straw and that was a wash. They would year it back out faster than I was putting it down. So the only other option is wood chips.

Now I'd love to have them free ranging the yard but we've already tried that option and it was a complete aggravation for various reasons. They constant would find ways in to escaping into the neighbors yard. Secondly they'd get into all kinds of things and we'd spend more time trying to fix ways to keep them out of stuff or in the yard we became prison guards at a maximum security prison and constantly were working on prevention and having to go into neighbors yards to retrieve the escapee than it was worth. So now they're staying in the chicken run. Mind you it is a rather large area.

So I decided to give the wood chips another go. The other thing I was kind of concerned about was that it is such a large area keeping wood chips going in the chicken run would become an expense. However I did find out that there are plenty of landscapers who will deliver wood chips right to your house and dump them at no cost to you. 😁 . So now not only is it a viable option but one at no expense. Well other than you moving it yourself to your desired location in your yard. All they do is bring it to your house and dump the truck. So don't expect free landscaping manpower . For that your on your own.

Now I'm going to give the woodchip option another chance and begin this option over the fall and winter months and then see how it turns out next summer. I'll keep you posted. 😁👨‍🌾. By the way I'm sure Flossy Mae will put her loud mouth two cents worth in so I'll let you know her opinion too. 🤣🐓


27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page