top of page
Search
Writer's pictureCarolina Farmer Farmer

Mister potato head

Yes I'm seriously considering adding a potato bed to the mix. šŸ„”. Yet there's really no room in the current beds to attempt this endeavor.

The truth is the bed for the potatoes has to be deep , full of organic material and acidic. Well my current beds are nowhere near that so I'd have to start another bed and get it prepared for the planting that would have to occur in February. So I'd really have to get everything dug up and start the soil prep now in order to get some organic material broken down and the soil adapted to the appropriate pH level which should be around 5.3 - 6.0 . ( 7.0 = neutral) .

Next up I'd have to dig down at least one to two foot to soften up the compacted soil and get it aerated and turned up.

I'm still think even if I go ahead and start it now it's going to take a lot of composting over the winter months to even get close to having it ready.

For the most part the potatoes should be easy to grow but I think it's really dependent on the rainful for the growing season. Water is great but rainwater can't be beat.

The issue I'm going to have is where to plant the bed. It's not like we don't have the room for another bed but it's the fact that potatoes need about 6-8 hours of direct sunlight a day and with our plethora of trees particularly my nemesis the pine trees that are about 200 foot tall and extremely expensive to have cut down they taunt me from on high while flinging their needles and cones at me. The only satisfaction I get in a return gesture is when I get to tear out one of their evil little ( most not so little) roots. I generally get of the shovel and the mack daddy axe and whack away at them while laughing with an evil smirk. šŸ˜ˆ

But that's my upcoming plans for one of the fall projects to prepare for next season. šŸ˜šŸ‘Øā€šŸŒ¾šŸ„”šŸŒ²

BONUS šŸ„³šŸ¾šŸŽ€šŸŽšŸŽ‰

Ok I couldn't help but throw this in.

3 robbers running from police saw three burlap sacks on the ground in an alleyway so they decided to climb in and hide. The police kicked the first sack and the first robber barked. The police moved on , they kicked the second sack the robber meowed the police moved on. They kicked the third sack the robber said potatoes. šŸ„”šŸ¤£šŸ¤£šŸ¤£ Sorry I couldn't help it.



212 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page