top of page
Search
Writer's pictureCarolina Farmer Farmer

Potatoe Therapy

As well as using the food as a staple crop, the Incas thought potatoes made childbirth easier and used it to treat injuries. The Spanish conquistadors first encountered the potato when they arrived in Peru in 1532 in search of gold, and noted Inca miners eating chuñu. My 4 year old daughter at the time knew by the sight of the golden arches it was time for " sha she's" .

The planting of potatoes signifies the very early start of the planting season and means it will soon be time to kick it into high gear. It's exciting. It's like the start of football season for a sports nut. 🤣.

So today I actually got to get into the garden and peel back the wintertime hay cover to work the soil to get the seed potatoes in the ground. Man the excitement. ❗ Actually turning the soil for the first time for this season was like hearing the starting gun for a race. 🏁 I know it's quite pitiful. 🤣

But the relaxation and tranquility was awesome. I think you forget over the cold winter the therapeutic effects this simple act of digging in dirt and placing a seed into the endless possibilities of growing your own food. It's awesome. I feel like I just finished a marathon therapy session with some shrink. Although I actually wouldn't know what therapy with a shrink is supposed to feel like but if it's like planting potatoes 🥔 sign me up Dr Freud .

So I know for most it's early because they usually wait for good Friday to plant the usual suburban garden. But I'm telling you about planting those early crops if you want earlier therapy sessions it's freakin wonderful.

So I'll sleep good tonight and have food produced later to boot.

Happy potato planting day. 🥔🤣😁


95 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page